Accept and Continue

Cookies on this site

This site uses cookies. For more information, please see our privacy policy.
Skip to main content

Council members

Notice of Vacancy - 

Following the resignation of Councillor Williams, the Notice of Vacancy has been published (see News for Notice of Vacancy)

Council Members

Robin Orton - Chairman - 22 Lyng Road, Sparham, Norwich, NR9 5QY

Email -

Telephone Number – 01603 870785


Keith Meader - Vice Chairman - 25 Heath Road, Lyng, Norfolk, NR9 5RT,

Email -

Telephone Number – 01603 873385


Suzan Jarvis - Please contact via the Parish Clerk


Melanie Joyce - Email –

Telephone Number – 07584 160503


Jason King -Oak House, Richmond Place, Lyng, NR9 5RF

Email -


Georgia Sullivan - The Elms, Elsing, NR20 3EW

Email – 


Parish Clerk - Jo Boxall - White House, Pettywell, Reepham, Norfolk, NR10 4RN

Telephone: 01603 879480



District Councillor – Gordon Bambridge

C/o Elizabeth House, Walpole Loke, Dereham, Norfolk, NR19 1EE


Telephone:  01603 881364 / 077880381761


County Councillor – Bill Borrett

Manor Farm, Hoe, Dereham, Norfolk, NR20 4FP

Telephone: 01362 860200


In order to comply with the Regulations a Member or Co-opted Member must register their disclosable pecuniary interests (DPI's) and interests other than pecuniary interests with the District Council's Monitoring Officer within 28 days of the date of their election, re-election or co-option and also once a member becomes aware that they have an interest. Register of Interest submissions can be viewed by selecting the individual Councillor.

Failure to declare a Disclosable Pecuniary Interest is an offence. A member who is found guilty of an offence under Part 1, Chapter 7, Section 34 of the Localism Act 2011 is liable on summary conviction to a fine not exceeding level 5 on the standard scale and a court may by order disqualify a member for a period not exceeding five years from being or becoming (by election or otherwise) a member or co-opted member of any authority.

Councillors must agree to abide by the Code of Conduct  The Parish Council are required to adopt a code of conduct, which sets out rules governing the behaviour of their Members and satisfies the requirements of the Localism Act 2011.

Casual Vacancies

A casual vacancy on the Parish Council may arise for a number of reasons for example, a Councillor has resigned, passed away, or they have failed to attend any meetings for 6 months.

All resignations must be made in writing to the Chairperson of the Parish Council. Once received that resignation cannot be withdrawn.

When a vacancy occurs, the Parish Clerk must notify Electoral Services at Breckland District Council as soon as possible with the details of which Councillor has caused the vacancy.

The vacancy must then be advertised in the Parish, on the parish noticeboard and on the website, for a period of 14 working days excluding bank holidays and weekends.

During this time, an election can be requested by 10 electors from the electoral area in writing to Electoral Services at Breckland District Council. The request must be received by the last date on the notice of vacancy for an election to be held. If requested an election will be held to fill the vacancy. Remaining Councillors will retain their seats.

If the 14 days have passed and an election has not been requested by ten electors, the Parish Council will be informed that they can co-opt a suitable person onto the council to fill the vacancy.

Can a Parish Council be removed between elections?

Simply, they can’t, the Councillors  are elected by the electors of the parish to serve a four year term, and unless they die, resign or are disqualified from being a Councillor then they cannot be removed from office. 

The Council has adopted a co-option policy which will be followed in the event that following the notice of vacancy, there is no request for an election and the Council are permitted to co-opt a new Councillor.



Councillors may be granted a dispensation which enables them to take part in Council business where this would otherwise be prohibited because they have a Disclosable Pecuniary Interest.

Provided Councillors act within the terms of their dispensation there is deemed to be no breach of the Code of Conduct or the law.

2.2 Section 31(4) of the Localism Act states that dispensations may allow the Councillor:

(a) to participate, or participate further, in any discussion of the matter at the meeting(s); and/or

(b) to participate in any vote, or further vote, taken on the matter at the meeting(s).

The Dispensation Policy was approved at the Council meeting held on 4th May 2021